Letizia Fiorenza & David Sautter

Imagine del cuorImagine del cuor I Cantimbanchi

Imagine del cuor

Neapolitan villanelles and other Neapolitan songs from the 16th to 18th centuries with music by Domenico Scarlatti and improvisations.

eos guitar edition, 2005
Art.Nr: eos 234-200-3
Preis: CHF 30.00, price: € 20.00

Letizia Fiorenza (voc,perc)
David Sautter (git, arrangements)

Real folk singing is above all a representation of an inner world,” writes the great musician and musicologist Roberto de Simone in his work “La Tradizione in Campania”. The words of the songs present a stark contrast to the beautiful melodies. The light and soothing tones conceal hurt feelings, anger and disappointment, as well as unquenchable desires, forlornness in the face of one’s own passion and the wish to be swallowed up within this very passion.
Letizia Fiorenza and David Sautter have been researching and working with the richness of the folk music heritage of southern Italy for the past 18 years and these songs have had a place in their hearts since the beginning of their musical collaboration. The songs are a reflection of their own feelings and desires and lend an audible form to their inner emotions. The phrase “Imagine del cuor”, according to Michelangelo, refers to a picture in one’s heart that is given expression through music.
The music by Domenico Scarlatti, originally composed for the harpsichord, as well as guitar improvisations, supplement, connect and carry over the universal elements of these old songs into the present.

  1. Ricciulina (MP3)
  2. Li ffigliole
  3. Si tu enna
  4. Vulumbrella
  5. Vurria addeventare suricillo (MP3)
  6. In galera li panettioeri (MP3)
  7. Le Spingole grangese
  8. Sonata e-Moll/K 292 «Allegro»
    Domenico Scarlatti
  9. Vuira ca fosse ciaola
  10. Sonata A-Dur/K 208 «Andante cantabile»
    Domenico Scarlatti
  11. Sonata A-Dur/K 209 «Allegro»
    Domenico Scarlatti
  12. So li ssorbe e le nespole amare
    Leonardo Vinci
  13. Mmare è nata na scarola
  14. Canto delle lavandaie
  15. Palummella


Recording, Mix + Mastering: Moritz Wetter, Hardstudio, Winterthur

Production: Letizia Fiorenza + David Sautter

Gespielte Gitarren von: Benno Wittmer, Giacchino Guissiani, J.L. Aguilarte

Pictures: Barbara Davatz

Layout: David Sautter


Letizia Fiorenza & David Sautter, Guschstrasse 52, CH-8610 Uster, Fon. & Fax: 0041 44 942 20 68,